Five years from now

A few weeks ago, a woman asked me what I wanted to do five years from now.

I didn’t hesitate with response that I hoped and prayed that five years from now, Lord willing, I would be a mom. To which she replied, “no, what do you want to do with your career.”

I was miffed. She continued, “You’re too smart to be a stay at home mom.”

Then I was pissed. Lots of my friends are stay at home moms and these ladies are some of the hardest working and smartest women I know. These women didn’t stop using their brains when they left the traditional workforce to raise their awesomely hilarious children. I am not currently a stay at home mom, but fear not, friends, I had your back.

As I explained an ounce of my ideas about family, children and the important job of raising them, I longed for that day deeply. I longed for children of my own.

As I explained and the lady sat baffled that a 25 year old today would think about staying at home, I felt an ounce of the pain my friends must feels when they are in these conversations.

I just wanna tell you: You’re smart. You’re making the decision you feel is right for your kids and your family. Don’t let the world tell you otherwise. I love you.

(Now, I know plenty of working moms too. You also rock and I love you. Keep shining.)

One thought on “Five years from now

Leave a comment