Books I’ve Read

Every six months or so I do a review of the books I’ve read. I hope you’re reading something great!
Fiction 
  • Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult – This book was better than I thought it would be. I’m not big into vampires or wolves or anything like that, but this was an interesting read and offered some really interesting information about the lives of wolves wrapped into the main plot of the story.
  • Divergent by Victoria Roth – It’s no secret that dystopian novels are my absolute favorite. I love the building of a new society based on the fall of the old and the conflict it creates. This book had great potential as the author created a truly interesting world. The factions remind me of Hogwarts schools on a greater scale and well, I loved that. But the story felt a bit too simple for me although I’m sure the intended audience of a younger reader would be all over this. All in all, a fun, easy read but not as interesting as I wanted it to be.
  • Insurgent by Victoria Roth – I think this book was better than it’s predecessor. I’m still interested in the world this author created and still think these are easy, yet interesting reads.
  • MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood – This is the final book of Atwood’s Orxy & Crake trilogy. Margaret Atwood writes what she calls speculative fiction and this book is probably the furthest from modern-day America that she’s written. It’s actually a pretty tough read considering the differences between the worlds she’s created, but it’s interesting nonetheless.
  • Fin & Lady by Cathleen Schine –  I love a good coming of age tale. This was pretty good and an interesting take on watching not only a kid grow up, but his guardian as well. Aren’t we all still growing up?
  • And the Mountains Echoed  by Khaled Hosseini – I’ve loved this author for a while. I read Kite Runner when it came out and each time Hosseini comes out with a new novel, I can’t wait to read it. Each time I am amazed. This book is so good. It’s multi-generational and it is so captivating how to story entwined with the characters and with American understand of Afghanistan and Afghan culture. It’s a beautiful book and well worth the read.
  • The Dinner by Herman Koch – This is one of my favorite reads of the year. It’s dark, satirical and wonderfully written. I’d highly recommend it for a suspenseful read.

Non-Fiction

  • What is a Healthy Church Member? by Thabiti M. Anyabwile – Taylor and I read this as part of our new members class at our new church. It’s a good primer on church membership.
  • The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis – I’ve realized that I really am missing out on a wealth of knowledge by not having read much C.S. Lewis, so I read this collection and I feel like it was a pretty excellent read.
  • Orange is the New Black  by Piper Kerman – Not my normal non-fiction read, this memoir tells the story of Piper Kerman through her year in prison. I realize I should read more memoirs because they can be just as engrossing as good fiction.
Leave a Reply

