Dealing with difficulty

I’ve been struggling this week with dealing with difficult people.  They type of person that takes out their personal problems and/or bad mood on everyone around them. They type of person that you have to walk on eggshells around them when you assess that they’re having a bad day – you sink down, stay low and silent.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had to deal with this type of anger. It’s frustrating for me. It reminds me a lot of my childhood, which is even more unfortunate. Now, as an adult I’m trying to look at this type of frustrating person differently than I would have as a kid or teen.

How do you love someone in that position? I don’t have the answers yet. My gut reaction is to pray that they’ll change their behavior because that would be easier for me, but is that the right way to respond? I’m not sure. It seems selfish. This type of person isn’t looking for someone to listen to – just a punching bag.  Being that seems wrong on other levels, but how do you love them – acknowledging their frustration is real.

This is a bit of a ramble. I don’t have the answers yet, but I know that I want to be thoughtful in my actions and response.

Leave a Reply

