Thoughts on Work

I’ve been at my new job about a month. I’m still getting the hang of things, but for the most part I feel like it is going pretty well.

This week I got to talk to a coworker who told me she not only thought I was doing a great job, but she thought this job is beneath me. While, I was greatly flattered that others see how hard I’m working to learn the ropes of my new job, I was taken back a bit by the idea that any job could be beneath me. She went on to discuss how my aptitude for this job and my skill level would be better suited in another position (presumably at a different company) where I would be paid more for my effort.

This is what I know. I know that almost all jobs are valuable and worth doing well. Even jobs with some seemingly mundane tasks deserve to be done and need to be done and glorify God in their completion. In fact, we need people to do this job and to do them excellently. Many of the hardest working people I know complete jobs that are seemingly full of mundane tasks and their pay isn’t exactly the kind of money you think about making when you leave college. But whether your a stay-at-home mom, a janitor or a neurosurgeon your job glorifies God in its completion.

Sure, it might seem like my life would be easy/richer/more fulfilling if I had a job that made more money, but to me that’s just a lie that I have to fight believing. So much of the messages we receive are about how much happier we would be if we could only (insert dream here) and some days it’s hard for me to fight this false message. Work is about more than money. Life is about more than what you can buy.

Leave a Reply

