Fighting For Those You Love

I had to have a difficult conversation with someone I love deeply this week. It’s been a long time coming and I’ve done a lot of thinking about it, but that didn’t make it any easier and it didn’t make it go any better.

Sometimes you have to say hard things to the people you care the most about. It isn’t because you want to hurt them and it isn’t because you’re trying to focus on yourself, it’s because you love them and sometimes you just have to confront situations that arise.  It isn’t that you aren’t peaceable, it’s that you desire peace so much that you don’t want the situation to continue to divide you.

Confrontation can be out of love and should be out of love. You have to fight for those you love. Fight for change. Change what you are able and fight and pray and hope that one day God will answer those prayers and that change is possible. I’m hoping and praying that it is today. Today, I don’t know how this particular situation will end and to be honest, I don’t see an end to it, but I know it will come one day and I pray that it is bigger and better than I can imagine.

Leave a Reply

