Waves of Homesickness

I’ve been dealing with some serious waves of homesickness. I had been doing pretty great for a while. Everything in California was starting to feel normal but over the last week or so the waves of homesickness hit me like a ton of bricks.

I think it’s the new realization that not only will I not be able to go home for Christmas, but basically the entire next year or more. I can’t imagine not being home for the holidays. I’ve never not been with at least one of my families on Christmas day. Other holidays don’t bother me, but the idea of not being home for Christmas makes me so sad.

I know it will work out and that Taylor and I will find something fun to do for that day and I’ll get used to having to spend the  holidays and every other day on the West Coast. I guess these kinds of major life changes take time to adjust into and that given our life plans this change was inevitable.

I’ve been missing Tallahassee too. It’s still so weird to me that we’re most likely never going back there. I miss all my friends there (and the ones who have already left too). Part of me really hopes that one day we’ll get to go back, but I know that it’s even further away than my next trip to Orlando.

I’m sure the pain of being so far away from friends and family will dull. I am so thankful for all the friends we’ve made here and take comfort in the knowledge that this has been part of my life plan from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

