The Most Difficult Weekend Yet

Moving is hard.

Not only is the working of packing and sorting and cleaning and planning a tiring, exhausting mess, but with this move we are saying so long to sweet friends and to our gloriously easy four hour trip to see most of our family members.

This was the last weekend I’ll see my parents for the foreseeable future. No trips are planned. Holidays might be a bit of a stretch, even though I am optimistically holding out hope for a small trip. It’s never going to be the same. It’s never going to be this easy again.

I mourn the loss of that ease. The freedom to go home for a birthday, for a week at Christmas or for a funeral on the drop of a dime. It’s going to be hard and more expensive to make those kind of trips.

And yet, I know without a doubt that this is for the best. I have no clue what it will look like and I am holding out hope that it will be great, but I know that affliction is always right around the corner too.

I am incredibly grateful for the last 6 years. For the time I have gotten to spend building relationships with Taylor’s family and for the time with mine. I will miss it dearly, but I know that these years have been such a blessing to me and to Taylor.

“But since we were torn away from you, brothers, for a short time, in person not in heart, we endeavored the more eagerly and with great desire to see you face to face” 1 Thessalonians 2:1

(Not being torn away exactly, but you get the idea.)

“I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”  Psalm 34:1

Leave a Reply

