My Reads

I started my year with a goal to read more – specifically more fiction. This is what I’ve read this year so far. My favorites so far have been Gone Girl and The Storyteller. I couldn’t pick one, they’re both so different. I’d recommend them both.

Fiction

  • The Paris Wife by Paula McClain: enjoyed this one a good bit. Made me want to watch Midnight in Paris and sit at a French bakery and obviously go to Paris. Oh, and also read some Ernest Hemingway.
  • The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: I’ve been reading Jodi Picoult novels for a long while and I love her style. This one is particularly good all be it some of it is tough to read as part of the story takes place during The Holocaust.
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: This book is darker than most of the books I read, but it was captivating in its portrayal of a broken marriage. I’d recommend it if you’re looking for something suspenseful.
  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn: Although I liked Gone Girl more, this book was still a great read. However, I’m not sure I’d recommend it as it gets a bit grim and probably too vulgar.
  • Good Kids by Benjamin Nugent: A sort of coming of age book that follows an East Coast teen during his transition toward adult and the fall of his parents marriage. An interesting read, but not my favorite.
  • Evel Knievel Days by Pauls Toutonghi: A coming of age book about family, Egypt, Montana and everything in between. A slow read, but interesting.
  • What She Saw by Lucinda Rosenfeld: A coming of age book (I guess I have a thing for those) about adolescence, guys, self-image and self-worth. A light read, but entertaining – a great summer read.
  • Truth in Advertising by John Kenney: Currently reading, but I’m definitely enjoying it and reminded of my days at an agency.

Nonfiction/ Christian Reads

I’m not much of a non-fiction person. I never think about picking up a biography. Maybe, I should change that. Have you read an interesting biography lately? Nevertheless, these are the Christian-y books I have read or in some cases, I’m still reading.

  • A Hunger for God by John Piper: I never thought about fasting and this book really helped put it in perspective for me.
  • Every Good Endeavor: Connecting Your Work to God’s Work by Tim Keller: This will probably be one of the best and most helpful books I read all year. Such a helpful read on a proper view of work.
  • Gospel by J.D. Greear: I’ve been reading this for a loooong while. It’s good. Very basic. The formatting of it kind of bothers me, but it makes great points about the simplicity and beauty of the gospel.
  • Pray With Eyes Open by Richard Pratt: Taylor and I just started reading this one together, but so far it has been great too!
Leave a Reply

