Going not knowing

This Sunday I was at church and the moment the pastor started preaching, I knew this sermon was for me. I could feel that these words were tailor-made for the season I’m heading into. Such a sweet, sweet thing to happen.

But, they were hard words about the future. The pastor made a point about “going forward not knowing.” The risk involved in our lives reminds us that we are not God, we are not omniscient. Most of us tend to live our lives to avoid risk, to enjoy comfort and to stay in our security zone. I know this is how I try to live: avoid risk, plan for everything, budget wisely…. the list goes on and some of these things can be a great good and a great blessing, but when God sends us forward not knowing what the future holds like he did in Acts 20:22 with Paul

“And now, behold, I am  going to Jerusalem, constrained by the Spirit, not knowing what will happen to me there.

or in Genesis 12:1 with Abram

“Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you.

God does this repeatedly throughout scripture and this increases our dependence on God and forces us to walk by faith and not by sight. This is what is good for me.

God does not promise that this will be easy and actually difficulties are usually ahead, but this is for the glory of God.

So, I’m looking forward to the season ahead much more that I was, because even though sacrifices are ahead with difficulties and the distances from our families, God is calling us to go not knowing and to trust in Him. I’m looking forward to an even deeper, sweeter and richer time trusting more fully in God.

Leave a Reply

