This season

I need the courage to be okay with living in Tallahassee.

It’s hard sometimes in a city that is so transitory with friends always leaving after the finish college. I feel like I missed the memo.

It’s hard not having many friends in the same life circumstances (married, no kids yet). It’s easy to feel disconnected.

I need to be grateful for what I’ve been given: I’m healthy, I have a job, I have a wonderful husband, a home…. really this list is endless when you consider the poverty and helplessness of some many in the world and yet I feel angry that this is my plot in life. I feel disappointed that I’m not the one moving on, leaving Tallahassee or having children. I feel stuck.

But, I’m right where God wants me. He knew these years would be part of my story. He wrote them and I know they are good for me and to me. I just have to keep my mind centered there and not focus on myself.

I need to rejoice in the good parts of Tallahassee especially on the days where they are hardest to see. I need to be thankful that Tallahassee is still so close to family and I can still hop in the car for the weekend to hang out. I need to relish in this childless season where I get so much time and silence all to myself and the time to help others who are already in the season ahead.

Leave a Reply

