The Dark I Know Well

“even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for the darkness is as light with you” Psalms 139:12

I’ve needed these words the last few weeks. The darkness of depression is seriously a debilitating and all consuming thing. When someone asks, “why are you sad?” or “why are you crying?” and you don’t have an answer but your face is so swollen with tears and it has been for days on end, you feel on the darkness that consumes you. When it becomes difficult to concentrate and even have the energy to get up, it feels hopeless. Thankfully, it is not hopeless. Remembering this is key.

I am thankful that I so rarely deal with these times. I pray for those that do. What a hard plight that must be.

I am thankful that each day is a little brighter. I am thankful to have a husband that puts up with this craziness.

I am thankful that the darkness I feel is not dark to my God. That He knows my suffering and is bringing a new day without it. I long for that day. I know that there is light at the end of the tunnel, even if I can’t see it. I trust there is because God says it. I know that my suffering is only a flicker of the suffering Christ felt and did not deserve.

Leave a Reply

