Grad School vs. No Grad School

This debate fills my head about 60% of the time, which is about 59% more than it should.

Shouldn’t a decision like this be easy? Am I just over-thinking it?

I am two years out of college. I have degrees in political science and international affairs. I do not regret picking these majors. I think it’s a shame that our higher education system is reverting to education as solely a means to get a job. A liberal arts education is still important in creating well-rounded, critically thinking, capable adults that can fill endless jobs and change careers 5-6 times over their adult life because of those skills. (I don’t think this merely because my husband is getting his PhD in the very lofty subject of philosophy, but I might be swayed a little.)

With that said, I am at the point where I need to decide what I really want for the future and if want I want needs more schooling to accomplish that goal. I feel like graduate degrees are really where the whole job thing comes in. Should you really be getting a degree that isn’t applied to a job? Maybe, because more education is great, but do I want to do it without a goal insight? For the planner in me, that might be more than I can swallow. More importantly in all of this, I am praying tons about this decision. You could pray for me too! I need it.

If you know me, you know that I am a bit   very indecisive and for some reason this decision is eating away at me. I don’t want to feel like I’m making a decision for more schooling because I think more schooling will make me better and I don’t want my worth to be found in another degree. At the same time, I see the way the world is moving and I know a master’s degree is slowly becoming the new normal.

My pragmatic side is also screaming, I’d have to be in grad school at least 2 years. That would make me at least 26 and that’s if I started in the fall, which might be too much of a stretch. Is it worth all the extra money (likely in loans) to fund another degree and then have children, stay at home for at least several years and not even really get to apply the degree? Would I be better off waiting and getting another degree later in life? Would I be better simply looking into other certifications I could acquire and saving time and money?

I wish I had the answers to any one of these questions; It would make my life so much easier. But, life usually isn’t easy. In times like these, I am so thankful that my life isn’t only this. That I can glorify God if I go to grad school and if I don’t. My worth isn’t in that. When you realize that, It’s freeing.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The 25 List Update « See Me Live

Leave a Reply

