Getting Healthy

I am fortunate to have (thus far) never struggled with my weight. Growing up, I ate whatever I wanted and never saw much consequence for it. The season I decided to give up caffeine for Lent during high school was the only time I felt the consequence of my 5 cans of soda per day habit. (Really, it was at least that, and I seriously can’t believe I used to be able to consume like that.)

Over the last few years, thanks to an endless supply of documentaries on Netflix, I’ve become increasing more concerned about the food I consume and how my habits effect my health and the environment.

I am realizing how much my mood and energy level are effected by simple things, the foods I eat, when I eat and most importantly exercise.

I’ve exercised semi-regularly, without much of a schedule or motivation. In college, I’d go to the gym for an hour, yet I’d barely break a sweat. It was really more of a check the box off my list sort of habit.

I’ve been making little changes in my like, that have effected my mood in a big way. As part of my 25 List, I decided to take the goals of running a 5k and a 10k. I have, after only 2 weeks, created an actual desire for running. Actually, not so much the running part, but probably the endorphin high. I actually enjoy coming back from my run looking gross but happy.

I’m seeing big changes in the way my body feels and that is really pushing me forward. The food I crave has started to change too, but I don’t feel nearly as guilty with some of my indulgences and I do find myself wanting them less. Win!

Leave a Reply

