Contentment

I am learning so much about contentment right now. About really understanding what it means to be content. This should be easy. I am young. I have my health. I have a job (that pays the bills). But most importantly, I have a Savior. My contentment in Him should come at ease.

But it’s so easy to let the world’s ideas feel my mind. I shouldn’t be content with my job. It’s not satisfying. It doesn’t pay much. I should want more.

I shouldn’t be content with my little apartment and it’s cheap furnishings or my wardrobe that is constantly following apart and out of style.I should want more. I should crave more.

These things are simply false. I should be content with the abundance of blessings God has given me. I should love my little life. I shouldn’t be craving for more, even if more is good. I should be content with my childless life because that is the season that I am in. I should relish this time. But, oh if it were only that simple.

Every day is a battle within our bodies over thousands of choices and decisions and forces in the world. It is a bigger battle than I am ever aware of.

I am taking each day and choosing to be content. Full of the contentment that can only come from God.

Leave a Reply

